The Writings of Cassidy Cornblatt

“So, what’s your book about?” someone asked.

I gave him the standard answer, “Oh, it’s a typical fantasy adventure story with magic and the like.”

“That’s it? Aren’t books supposed to be more meaningful?”

I shook my head, laughed, and told him, “It is what it is.”

He frowned and looked at the back to read the blurb. Then he laughed and asked rather slyly, “Are you sure there’s nothing more to this? Just take a look at the first sentence.”

I read it again, probably for the thousandth time: “Trapped in a world of corruption and endless war, the young spellcaster Caleth Rictanson breaks all precedents by befriending the enemy and seeking to right the wrongs of his ancestors.” “Yeah?” I said.

“You’re telling me this isn’t a social commentary on the state of the world?”

View original post

