Thesaurus

Image via Wikipedia

By Mandy Webster

The thesaurus just might be my all-time favorite book. I know, I admit it. I’m the all-time biggest book nerd ever. See, if I had my thesaurus, I would have likely varied my word choice just now rather than using ‘all-time’ in two consecutive sentences. Whatever shall I do?

A friend of mine suggested I try Dictionary.com. And by suggested, I mean, she posted to my Facebook wall, “dictionary.com duh Mandy! lol”

Thanks, Ang. =)

Anyway, I know I can look up synonyms online, or open Word, type the word and ask for synonyms. But, it’s just not the same as flipping through my trusty old thesaurus.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve found just the word I needed while flipping through, on my way to some other word. Sometimes you just don’t know what you need until you find it quite by accident. And, no online dictionary can provide that level of serendipity.

Amanda L. Webster

