Cover of "Eulalie and the Hopping Head"

Cover of Eulalie and the Hopping Head

By Mandy Webster

Eulalie and the Hopping Head. David Small. Macmillan, 2001.

I stumbled upon a description of David Small’s children’s book, Eulalie and the Hopping Head while researching the author for a book discussion on his graphic novel, Stitches. The description caught my attention, so I decided to check this one out from the library to read to my four year old.

My son loved Eulalie, and now, even several days after returning the book, he still talks about her.

On first reading, Avery was scared of Mrs. Shinn, the high-class fox who claims that all nine of her children are absolutely perfect. Personally, I still wonder about Mrs. Shinn, who apparently had seen the poor perfect child, owner of the hopping head, abandoned in the park several days prior and thought nothing of leaving the child there to fend for herself!

Mother Lumps, who has always admired Mrs. Shinn, decides to adopt the perfect child, not because she wants to replace her own imperfect Eulalie who still sometimes makes messes, but because she can’t very well leave the poor child alone in the park, now can she?

Hilarity ensues, as the poor perfect child’s head falls off. Neither Mrs. Lumps nor Mrs. Shinn seem to think this is in any way unusual. But, Eulalie, the star of the story, proves that there is nothing more perfect than an imperfect child.

David Small wrote and illustrated this children’s book. As in his graphic novel, Stitches, Small is dead on with both his commentary and images. My son and I read this book several times, and he was disappointed when it was time to return it to the library. This is one book I think we may need to add to our own permanent collection.

Amanda L. Webster

