Cover of "A Short Story Writer's Companio...

Cover of A Short Story Writer's Companion

By Mandy Webster

It’s the first list of the new year, let’s see if I picked some decent ones this time.

  • When She Hollers by Cynthia Voigt. Another suggested read by a professor. I’m trying to read everything my professors have read so I can actually join in conversations at school!
  • Blonde Roots by Bernardine Evaristo. Picked this one up at Wal-mart the other day from a $3 bin. I was really disappointed in one of the books I’d chosen for last month (still trying to finish it up by midnight tonight!) So, I thought I’d just grab something that looks like a good read: Something different with an actual plot and an original one at that. Check out the YouTube video below. The audience actually laughs while Evaristo reads an excerpt from the book.
  • A Short Story Writer’s Companion by Tom Bailey. Yeah, I know. I still haven’t managed to get through this one yet. But I aim to finish it by the time I start my next class the end of January!

Amanda L. Webster