Cover of "Stitches: A Memoir"

Cover of Stitches: A Memoir

By Mandy Webster

I’m about to read my first graphic novel. *gasp*

I’ve never been a fan of comic books, so I’ve never had any interest in reading a graphic novel. But, my son is crazy for comics and has read the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series cover to cover, over and over. I’ve been on the lookout for something a bit more advanced for him, but knowing nothing about the genre, I’ve been at a loss as to what to get.

So, when someone recommended David Small‘s “Stitches,” I thought I’d give it a try. The only thing is, I’m not completely sure it’s age appropriate, so I’m going to have to read it myself first to make sure there’s not anything ‘too’ mature for him.

I’m a writer, so naturally, I am against censorship. I believe it’s best to let your kids read controversial subjects and then talk about them. Knowledge sometimes has more power when hidden than when exposed to light, so why cover your kids’ eyes to block out the world around them? If you talk about the taboo, it loses its power. Anyway, I digress. The point is, I’m not completely against exposing my kids to controversial materials, but I like to make sure they’re ready for it first. Some lessons are best learned when taught in small increments.

The point is, this book arrived in the mail yesterday, just in the nick of time for Christmas, and now I have to read it in the next day or so to make sure I can give it to my son this week. Thus, my first experience with the graphic novel. I did thumb through the book a bit yesterday when I first removed it from the package, and it sounds like an interesting story. I just hope all of those pictures aren’t too much of a distraction!

Amanda L. Webster

