Cover of "Wintergirls"

Cover of Wintergirls

By Mandy Webster

OK, I admit it. I am the worst blogger ever. Here we are 10 days into the month, and I am just now telling you what to read. (As if you can’t decide for yourself, right?) I try not to make excuses for myself, but the reason is that it was the end of the semester and I had tons of my own writing to do. Anyway, here’s what’s up for December:

  • Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson: Guess what, I’ve already finished it! I picked this out of a bargain bin while shopping the Thanksgiving weekend sales at an outlet mall. When I got home, I started reading and just couldn’t put it down. So, if you’ve already read this one, let’s start talking. I loved this book, and Anderson is quickly becoming one of my all-time favorite YA authors.
  • The Florist’s Daughter” by Patricia Hampl: yes, this is a holdover from last month. Sorry, I didn’t so much as open the book. It was a busy month indeed. Now that I am on winter break from school, hopefully I will get around to this one. Agh, what an attitude. I will read this book this month! I will read this book this month!
  • And, the craft book for this month is…. (drum-roll please while I go dig around in my bag and pick one out…) A Short Story Writer’s Companion by Tom Bailey. If my short story professor from this semester should happen to be reading this right now, please skip down past this section so you don’t see what I’m about to type.  This book was required for my short story course, and I didn’t get around to reading as much as I should have. So, I’m adding it to the list for this month so I can get it done.

Amanda L. Webster, writer

