Here’s my list of books to get through this month. Read along with me on one or several, and tell me what you think!

  • Tantalize” by Cynthia Leitich Smith: This is a YA novel mentioned by my professor this semester. My book lists will likely include at least one YA read each month, as those are quick and easy to get through.
  • Creating Character Emotions” by Ann Hood: I am reading this book because I’m struggling to give the characters in my own stories the proper emotions. This specific book was recommended by my professor.
  • It’s My Life Now: Starting Over After an Abusive Relationship or Domestic Violence by Meg Kennedy Dugam, M.A. and Roger R. Hock, Ph.D.: I was looking for a book on this topic and this one just happened to be the only one available at libraries in the entire state of Wisconsin. So, it looks to me like this is a topic that needs more books written on it.
  • The Florist’s Daughter” by Patricia Hampl: I just walked over to my huge stack of novels I have bought over the past several years but haven’t yet read and grabbed this one right off the top. I read an interview with Hampl in the October/November issue of “The Writer’s Chronicle,” a publication by The Association of Writers and Writer’s Programs (AWP), of which I am a member. I really enjoyed the interview and decided I needed to read this book.

So, that’s probably plenty of reading for one month. Let’s see if we can actually conquer this list!

*Please note: I am providing links to each novel on half.com, as this is the cheapest place I know right now to purchase used books online. However, if you can get them from your local library, I would recommend that instead.

